News/ Motorsport/ Sony Bags 3-Year Broadcasting Rights of Formula E

Sony Bags 3-Year Broadcasting Rights of Formula E

Sony Pictures Networks India (SPNI) has again bagged the media rights of Formula E in the Indian subcontinent. Formula E and Sony Pictures Networks India announced they have entered a new three-year media partnership to air all Formula E races live on Sony Sports Network and Sony LIV across the Indian subcontinent. Formula E is touted as motorsport's future; hence, its broadcasting rights are a valued real estate. This holds especially in India as there is an entirely Indian team in Mahindra Racing with the Jaguar TCS racing team, also owned by the Indian Tata conglomerate.

Where To Watch?

 You can watch all the races of Formula E's tenth season on Sony Sports Network channels on television. You also have the option to stream all practice sessions live, along with qualifying and races this season, on SPNI's OTT platform, Sony LIV.

This coverage will extend to nations such as Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. 

What does it offer? 

Sony Sports Network started covering the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship with the 2024 Hankook Mexico City E-Prix this January. The next race on the calendar is the 2024 Misano E-Prix, scheduled for Saturday, April 13th, and Sunday, April 14th. You can watch it live on Sony Sports Ten 1 and Sony Sports Ten 5 channels and stream it on Sony LIV. 

Season 10 of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship will see 11 teams compete in 16 races across 10 important cities. Cities like Misano (Italy) and Shanghai make their debut this season. Cities like Mexico City, Diriyah, São Paulo, Monaco, Berlin, and Portland make a return, and London will wrap the season up on the weekend of 20 and 21 July 2024.

Sony also plans to broadcast Formula E's behind-the-scenes series, Unplugged, and closely follow Maserati MSG Racing driver Jehan Daruvala in his first season at the championship. 

What to look out for?

For an Indian, the Formula E has a lot to offer. As mentioned, the Mahindra Racing and Jaguar TCS racing teams will drive Indian pride forward. This is further increased by Jehan Daruwala, the third Indian driver to race in the series after Karun Chandhok and Narain Karthikeyan. He is debuting this season with Maserati MSG Racing in the championship. 

TopGear Magazine June 2024